Poets logo

Quothe the Inkling,

To be read in the intonations of Edgar Allen Po's "The Raven"

By Dannielle NelsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I spied at quotes upon the screen,

Some that got me fathoming,

Many awake and pondering,

But I had to say good-bye...

No wonder no love makes it past the grave,

Since there is little left to save,

For all those who forgot to be brave,

Which set my eyes to cry...

By morning light, I lived through the fright,

Of another shadeless screen bright night,

Falling deeper into the white,

To leave the sleepless world behind...

Alone in my pajamas see,

Sipping silently peppermint tea,

While the Inkling of thinking took me,

To marvelous abandon by...

I wait for you, There is no time,

Illusion of space, distance sublime,

Surreal the wasted memes of mine,

While I wait for you tonight...

I spy on those whose pictures lie,

Posts that reveal far too much. Sigh,

Statuses I scroll on by,

That brings you never closer to me, oh my....

While my brain goes on a thinking,

I was far too busy tinkering,

In a faraway land snickering,

At all I left behind...

Goodbye to that which leaves me pondering,

Sleepless and awake a wandering,

Alone in my abandon cling,

To all I left behind...

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Dannielle Nelson

I have no taboo subjects. Buckle up & prepare for the journey! From Steampunk, reality, mental health, poetry, & eclectic philosophy. Enjoy.

I have 2 Websites where other works can be read.

Plant People Heal

Read More Live Better

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.