Poets logo

Quest for Serenity

Accepting my peace

By Andrea JardinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
17
Quest for Serenity
Photo by Alex Lian on Unsplash

I smile and close my eyes focusing on

The delicate scents stretching out across

The lake, my favourite moment is dawn

Where hope abounds and I suffer no loss.

---

My feet circle slowly in the water,

Fingers touching the worn wood of the dock,

The morning ticks on, the sun feels hotter,

But I’m not ready to look at the clock.

---

Boat engines hum and brash voices begin,

I jump in the lake to drown out the noise

Savouring the coolness on my burnt skin,

All negative thoughts the water destroys.

---

I emerge from the depths blissfully new,

My brave spirit awakened through and through.

---

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider giving a heart or tiny tip, which is always appreciated. For more of my works or to read my 1st place story, Yard Wars: The Rise of Obi-Wan Catnobi, please visit my author page.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Andrea Jardine

IG: @andreajardinecreates

Currently in Toronto, Canada developing my writing skills and growing an audience. Any tip or pledge given to help me pursue this endeavour is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.