Poets logo

Queen

The matches glowed with a light that was brighter than the noon-day, and her grandmother had never appeared so large or so beautiful. She took the little girl in her arms, and they both flew upwards in brightness and joy far above the earth, where there was neither cold nor hunger nor pain, for they were with God.— "The Little Match Girl"

By Domenica CurroPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I cannot bear

anymore

she sitting in a chair

the person I adore

now I fear

she will soon disappear

I was crawling in her bed

I remember well

when all I wanted was

a hand to hold

like a child newborn

she was the one to know

where it was sprouting from

now standing at the door

where I runned from

welcoming everybody

she always knows

how to speak about love

And she stares at the road

greet the people she sees

waiting still

stepping back from the shit

because she is a queen

Silence is her weapon

diplomacy

for keeping it all together

struggling indeed

to keep secrets forever

Without a word

is a deep sight

an internal roar

she is feeling pain

to hear my thoughts

but not my words

and I am far away

I pray

I cry for the funeral

of my all family

we know what is going on

I dismantled a bomb

is still echoing its noise

that reminds me to be wise

I can see it in my mind

when I close my eyes

it comes back sharp and bright

so I try to go beyond

where I can hear her words

where she will soon walk

there

where I often escape

the place of infinite love

I will not disappoint you

I will always be true

beautiful and pure

I am now mature

to step in your own shoes

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Domenica Curro

"every action creates an equal and opposing reaction, that is the basic law of the universe"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.