Poets logo

Pushy Notifications

How to stop worrying

By Paul and Jordan AspenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Pushy Notifications
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

good morning, time to check the phone

see what I missed while I was sleeping

doesn’t matter if it’s overcast or sunny

my phone lights up by itself

throughout the day I never worry

I won’t miss out on the social media scene while distracted with life

my friends tag and @mention me

and my phone tells me each time

in the middle of something

phone dings and vibrates too

to make sure I don’t miss any notification

I’ll either hear or feel it

all day

I either hear or feel it

I don’t miss notifications, but I do miss life

phone dinging and vibrating

in the middle of everything

and my phone tells me each time

my friends are stupid or clever

and while I’m distracted with the social media scene, I miss out on life

I worry my days will pass me by

I decide to darken my phone

now I notice the clouds and the sun and…

see what I’ve missed while in a phone-coma

good morning, time to set down the phone

***

From the book my heart poured out by Jordan Aspen

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Paul and Jordan Aspen

Professionally, we help entrepreneurs get other people to sell for them through the power of social proof. Learn more at civanpro.com

Personally, we write... stories, poems, educational articles and more. Read more here on Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.