Poets logo

purpose

a reflection

By Persephone StyletPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
purpose
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

For the duration of my time on earth

I have been told I have one purpose

and one purpose alone.

I exist to please a man.

Only one for my entire life, and I do not know which.

If I please him too early, I am a whore.

If I please him too late, I'm lucky to have been chosen at all.

If I choose the wrong one,

Oh well. Too bad, so sad, no one will want me again.

I must be thin in the right places and never in the wrong ones.

I must speak to stroke his ego and only when spoken to.

I have a voice that I can only use to sing his praises

and willpower that I must let wither.

I must dampen my personality so he does not think me too much.

I must give him my all without coming off as a slut.

I must make up my face but cannot express myself through it.

I must degrade my everything at his every whim.

Whatever attention he gives me I must be grateful to receive.

Because even if I didn't want it, it's something I must have asked for.

I am never to show intellect, interest, or anything unbecoming.

I must only live to be exactly as he wants me.

I can never say a word against him if I think he treats me badly.

If he finds another one to his liking, I cannot say a thing.

I must never act like I've been feeling sad lately

Even if a noose looks rather appealing.

This is my purpose, I've been told.

My fate as a woman.

However, I wonder what will become of me

If I deny it all as I grow old.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Persephone Stylet

any pronouns

Just a small-town girl livin' in a lonely world. Also a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.