Poets logo

Lover

a note from youth

By Persephone StyletPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lover
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

I've been told I need to write lists.

"Write out what you want, write out your standards, write out the pros and cons."

So I suppose here, I'll do what they say, and make some lists.

I want someone who will understand me and not judge me.

I want someone who will want to receive random text messages throughout the day.

I want someone who will take care of me and someone I can take care of.

I want someone who I can come home to at the end of a long day, and I want us to be able to just be.

I want someone who will laugh at the way I talk to dogs, who will stay with me through it all, and who will always be honest with me even when it isn't pretty.

I want someone who I'm not scared to be myself with.

I want someone who will never hit me or abuse me in any sense of the word.

I want someone who respects life and humanity.

I want someone who will respect me and who I will respect.

Pros:

- the bar is on the floor, and I'm holding open the door

- all I want is some human interaction, for someone to show me a little compassion

- anyone who walks in could be the one I'm looking for

Cons:

- I feel so selfish for ever thinking I deserve any of this

- I've opened up my heart time and time again only to be hurt by every single person I've ever loved

- anyone who walks in could be the one I'm looking for

list
Like

About the Creator

Persephone Stylet

any pronouns

Just a small-town girl livin' in a lonely world. Also a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.