Poets logo

Purple Wine

A Dream

By HeyItsPhephenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Sorrow creaked throughout the house

In the dark there is a voice that whispers ill.

Deep into shadows and past her blouse

Her voice pulls my heart and erodes my will.

A spell she casts to end my fright

Her words swimming in my head

I am the lunatic caught in her light

As she calls me to her bed.

“Come now,” she says “you will be mine

In my bed of red roses and purple wine.”

Tic toc, tic toc

Bounces the bunny clock.

The time has nearly come.

My ending, my surrendering.

Screams crack out as riders and raiders break the night.

“I am yours, but first…let me fight”

The shadows dissolve into blistering sands

Two Lines. One people. Two lands.

Each ready to kill, each ready to die.

Tic toc, tic toc, the red numbers lie.

The victory gained here will be mine

Then I will drink deep of her purple wine.

The people, they scramble

Into swamp and bramble.

She takes my hand

“I now understand”

The light above shatters

Nothing else matters

I begin to fade

Into a single line

Lost in her glade

Of purple wine.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

HeyItsPhephen

A gingery ball of anxiety trying to beat inflation one story at a time.

Ca$hApp me if your feeling kind: sgreen2049

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.