Poets logo

Purity

Uncommon Poem

By A. L. BenwarePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Purity
Photo by Dino Januarsa on Unsplash

A small girl cries to her mother;

"Mama, they said I look like a boy!"

And her mother tries to calm her.

"But I'm beautiful, Mama!"

Her mother simply smiles,

Smooths back her hair, and takes a breath.

"Boys are beautiful just like girls; just like you."

The crying stops.

The girl smiles.

"Oh! Thank you, Mama!"

And goes back outside to play.

Her mother watches her laugh and run,

Utterly amazed at her quick acceptance.

"Why can't grown ups be so grown up in such a way?"

Her thoughts tumble in a whisper.

It is thought that the purity of children

Is one of the most powerful spiritual forces.

The reason they can dance along the line

To the spirit realms.

They are unfazed by color, size, and gender

Until they are taught by family or society

To hate everyone for at least something.

Would we have war

If children never grew out of purity?

Would there be famine?

We will never know, unfortunately,

As it is apparently human nature

To form prejudice one one another.

The adults of now always find a way

To excuse their disgusting hate.

If the poisoned minds of hatred

Didn't teach the babes of this earth such filth,

Would there be hate?

What would we be,

If purity was not a rarity?

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

A. L. Benware

I wrote my first poem in second grade, I had my poetry published in an anthology when I was 15 and now I think I have the beginnings of my first(-ish) novel in the works. My mind constantly builds worlds and stories that I hope to share!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.