Poets logo

Punk Tuation

A poem about grammatical rebellion

By emPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Punk Tuation
Photo by Francesco Casalino on Unsplash

structure formatting punctuation

its a load of crap shaped misinformation

we dont need little lines in and amongst all these letters

to help us read in between the lines a little better

what does the comma do that common sense cannot

and why must we exclaim when WE CAN JUST SHOUT A WHOLE LOT

and where is the need for the period full stop

when life is a long sentence that only ends when we drop

and hey if youve got a question then dont ask just tell

because everythings unknown until we pull answers up from hell

which just happens to be where grammar was born

so death to the comma you wont see these words mourn

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

em

I’m a writer, a storyteller, a lunatic. I imagine in a parallel universe I might be a caricaturist or a botanist or somewhere asleep on the moon — but here, I am a writer, turning moments into multiverses and making homes out of them.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    My debate coach in high school would be thrilled with this. With every original oration or paper I ever wrote, he would tell me, "All of these commas are technically correct, but they make this virtually impossible to read." While others were oft instructed to tighten things up & make it shorter, I was assigned the task of editing most of my commas out.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I came for the Punk and stayed for the clever! Very well done!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Title got me, poem kept me. And as an ESL instructor, I sympathize. As a former 80s punker, I shed a tear... Excellent!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.