Poets logo

PTSDreams

once was enough for me

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
PTSDreams
Photo by Duncan Kidd on Unsplash

a soldier in World War II

sent to die a French death

in tattered uniform threads

my new red, white, and blue

feeling terrified, filthy like a rag

I went to sleep American

but dreamt I fought for another flag

trenches turned graves

filled with the horrified cries of war

I heard more than devout men

plead to G-d for no more

later I felt myself counting

each every breath

as I hoped to avoid capture

or at least a merciful death

and my wish was granted

while held in a bunker scape

I tried to choke a guard

while plotting my own escape

in a few seconds

I was shot dead

so imagine my surprise

at what happened next,

safely, I awoke in my own bed

layered by dried crusts of sweat

I needed more than a cigarette

back in the reality I had yet to accept

but not in the place I assumed

which I thought was a hospital room

I cried to grieve men of my platoon

inside a room all black

feels crazy to look back

a PTSDream when I

mourned imaginary men oversea

I only dreamt of war once

and once was enough for me

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    PTSDreams is a more than just a brilliant read, it reminds us of the consequence of sacrifice. Thank you for sharing Jeffrey.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.