Poets logo

Pterodactyl Stand-Up

Know When You're Out of Your Era

By Judey Kalchik Published 23 days ago 1 min read
24
Pterodactyl Stand-Up
Photo by Arthur Shuraev on Unsplash

"I just flew in from the Cretaceous period... and boy are my arms tired!"

Is this thing working? Is this thing on?

"I tried to get a job as an undercover spy, but they said the wings were too memorable, so (gimme a break!) I couldn't get hired!"

They wouldn't have said it to a mastodon!

~

"I thought this was the circus and I'd ride the {HA!} carn-i-vore!"

I know that you hear me, Hey- yeah you! You blinked!

"You might as well give in- I've got a hundred more!"

Wow! I'm not just dying here- I'm already extinct.

~

"I'm not who you thought I'd be, not one you know best."

Why do they always want to see T Rex?

"But now that I'm here, you wanna pet my crest?"

Between the two of us I've got the most impressive pecs.

~

"Thanks for having me, happy to be here, folks!"

To see me up close they'd need to go to Bavaria.

"I'll work on my routine and get better jokes."

Why am I always left out of the Dino-hysteria?!

~~~

This is a submission for the Vocal Poemosaurus Rex Challenge. Find out more here:

For Funsurreal poetry
24

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    So glad you put this through for the dialogue challenge too!

  • bahahahaha

  • Great entry such a unique creative take! You gave me more than a couple chuckles

  • JBaz20 days ago

    I was laughing so hard at the opening line I had to read this twice. The visuals alone are worth the read

  • Randy Baker22 days ago

    When I read things like this, it makes me wish I was more creative. Great take on the challenge theme, Judey. Did you mean for your dinosaur to sound like Rodney Dangerfield, because that's the voice I was hearing in my head?

  • Paul Stewart22 days ago

    Seeee. I read your haiku and then read this gem. So funny - total dad jokes galore lol! Thank you and well done, Judey...I could envision a Pterodactyl in some back-end comedy club doing a five-min bit. lol.

  • Babs Iverson22 days ago

    Love your humorous 🦕 poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen22 days ago

    I never knew all of the dino names b4. Learning so much has been a hoot. This is like all of us on Vocal, all wanting to be the big cheese. So very like us were the dinosaurs.

  • Hahahahahahahhaha this was so freaking hilarious! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Grz Colm23 days ago

    😄👏 …”boy are my arms tired!" Lolz.

  • Shirley Belk23 days ago

    So true...we often overlook those prehistoric cranes....all of those creatures tend to freak me out, so I avoid thinking about them. Loved your humor

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    So funny, Judey! "Already extinct." Ha! That's a knee slapper, that is!!

  • This works and you will be laughing when it gets its deserved Top Story

  • Made me lol -- and not at the dino-loubge act jokes! By the way, in prepping for this challenge, I was quite surprised to learn that technically pterodactyls are not dinosaurs but flying reptiles. Of course this piece still qualifies (and then some) for the challenge.

  • Kendall Defoe 23 days ago

    Tough crowd...makes me understand why species become extinct... 🥁

  • Donna Fox (HKB)23 days ago

    Hahah! Love how cheesy all these were!! Great work here Judey!!

  • What a delightful start to my day 💛! I especially love the interjections… I liked his jokes & much prefer him to Rex!🤩✅

  • Jay Kantor23 days ago

    ‘j’ - Do you offer Fly-Away airport shuttle bus Car-ni-Vore snacks.. ‘j’

  • Rasma Raisters23 days ago

    Delightful, loved it!

  • Cathy holmes23 days ago

    Haha. This is great. What a unique take on the challenge.

  • Z.a.i.n.t.z23 days ago

    perfect, I love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.