Poets logo

Prufrock's Petulance

A Seditious Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

"I have heard the mermaids singing, each to each.

I do not think that they will sing to me."

“The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T.S. Eliot, 1915

While the mermaids have ceased to sing for me

Short years ago, I heard their lovely song

What kind of whiny ingrate would I be

To resent that they have bid me so long?

Too quickly did the modern soul complain

If we postmodern folk have souls, they too

An obstinate solipsism maintain:

"Only for me can things be good or true!"

Magical songs for others are mere noise

My ear alone is worthy of their notes

This surly petulance good sense annoys

What ugly ingratitude it denotes

That mermaids sing at all should be enough

To drown our complaints, in seas calm or rough

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so stunningly beautiful! I read it twice! I loved it so much!

  • Test5 months ago

    You sure are writing a lot! Producing content (pretty decent as well!!) constantly is difficult , but key. You have Interesting ideas and you execute them with aplomb. Few are they who can communicate intent within, for instance, the rigid structure of the sonnet. You do so very wel ;you address our humanity and reference classical lit within a classical form.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    An interesting proposition. I'm extrapolating like crazy here and finding a lot of yeses (beauty of all sorts) and a lot of nos (great wealth).

  • Alex H Mittelman 5 months ago

    Well written! Good work!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.