Poets logo

Prophecy

child-like memories

By Sam JamalPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Prophecy
Photo by Zoran Kokanovic on Unsplash

“Prophecy”

The light flickers,

It is time to bring out the white candles!

You can’t do much but wait for the lights to come back on.

It was darker back then,

I would use one of the candles from the kitchen.

To find my books,

Books that will distract me from this poverty,

Books that will make me feel like I live in a castle,

Where I could see my grandparents standing outside waiting for me.

To feel the love grandparents give and any kind of love is a gift!

Instead, I was put in this dark cave,

Where I was taught animosity,

Feel no mercy or fear

Don’t cry, that’s a shame!

Don’t feel for others, it is not your job!

Find your way out on your own

You are just another kid in the jungle

Follow no order, make your own rules

Do not and do not!

Feed others, as if they’ll feed on you!

Climb higher trees and stay isolated.

Everything bad was brought by people!

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sam Jamal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.