Poets logo

Proof

ACS

By Ava SpolecPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Proof
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Lick tats off your skin

You beat me you win

So much contempt for you

All them other bitches you might like-- window shopping at night

even if for a second

But you lost too

anche tu hai perso

you lost the taste of salt

citrine

orange

cement

sunshine

the tan

the music

the poems

memories of being my man

You Ignored me to Tears

Your silence plays me alone on the streets in Italy

You can pick another flower but i am no peony

i am these other bitches mother

i am their sister

their friend

I am in every woman you try after me.

You don't have to look,

You will see me

Before that, you may feel momentarily refreshed, since you live life in the moment

\

Watch, in the end, I appear like the credits roll

Credit me to who he is now

Credit me to trying to save us

Credit me for failing us

You have branded my entire life it seems. I can assume the new ones will be nothing like me. More tattoos, piercings, more messy

I see flashes of them in my head

My overreactive imagination

My taste though...

You will never consume again

You can remember

the hydration the unique flavor

the elegance of my pen and paper

and all the beautiful ideas i shared with you, you shared with me too

i am forever grateful.

in your silence i hope you recognize time to heal

i hope you know what i gave you was only for you. no other will achieve the tastes i prepared for you

A moment in time you had me at 20, 21, 22

i do not know who i will be next year. my cup is not dripping for you.

at least i don't try.

your silence dries

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ava Spolec

I am writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.