Poets logo

sanctuary

(temporary)

By Sara Published 14 days ago 1 min read
5

when you found my words

i lost my sanctuary.

when you wouldn’t hold me

the words did

and now you read the words

and both of you betray me.

i have nowhere to go now.

i am a child of the moon

that lives in the daylight

and nobody knows my name.

my home that was you

and the escape i fled to

when our house burned

is a pile of ashes

the wind plays with.

the walls that kept me once

are the ones that get too close

and my breath hangs

between you and the words

i will choke on.

art
5

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books12 days ago

    You write some of the craziest, most powerful lines in any poetry I've read and this is no different. "i am a child of the moon / that lives in the daylight / and nobody knows my name", goes so hard. And so do the opening two lines. Amazing!

  • Poppy 12 days ago

    Oh. my. gosh. Those opening two lines were astoundingly captivating. The entire thing is wonderful. You have such a talent of making your poems so raw and impactful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.