Poets logo

Promising Songs

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Take me away from here.

Let me forget to breathe and live.

Drive my mind to captive places

I have but dreamed to discover.

Hold my hand and steer me

Into labyrinthine pathways

Reaching beyond the soul.

Past nightmares and dreams

Plaguing the mind as it sleeps.

Kidnap my glory to prove

Nothing lasts except dust.

Retreat with me into silence.

Force my hand to let go of horrors

And sorrows of my past.

Aggravate my emotions with pleasures

Unbeknownst to mortal man.

Echo within my frame the promise

Never to leave me to

The graveyard of my memory ,

Swallowing my light only

To smother me in wretched shadows.

Lead me to the ghostly light

Miraged in the distance of tomorrow.

Help me to trust in the hope of honesties

And trusts of alien forms.

Steady me as I drift and sway

Through obstacles and doubts.

Hold fast to the person you know

As I fluctuate in disbelief.

Don’t give up on me

As I disappoint in ways,

Which weren’t planned.

Have patience with the shy form

You see before you.

It is a mask to hide

The passion lying within.

Forgive the faults you find in me

For they will be extinguished by my light.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.