Poets logo

Prisoner's Pain

A Prayer To Be Free

By Misha KellyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Prisoner's Pain
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I live in a prison of my pain

The walls I laid with my own hands

They become strong and resilient over time

Where I dwell within its isolation

Prisms of my tears dangle from above

Reminding me of all the pain I have not overcome

The walls are splashed with shame, grief, and doubt

As its all this prison knows and is about

Shackled up in my emotions I remain

A new layer of restraints is added

As a new trigger, experience,

Or story repeated from my past replays

I become lost among my creation

A maze I built to not evade

When it all becomes too much

And I realize I need to plan my escape

I get lost along the way

Stuck in an endless loop on replay

Being tricked that I cannot be free

For my eyes do not know what they see

This is another trick too

An illusion of the mind

For I am the prisoner

And the prison

I am the guard with the locks

But also the only one with the key

It is not until I can make my peace

With the prisoner within me

That I can then be free

To let others see

The pain I have yet to release

Without one another who would we be

Each day my shackles begin to loosen

As I feel my sense of faith renewing

I pray on my knees

For grace to enter me

social commentarysad poetry

About the Creator

Misha Kelly

Writer, adventurer, nature lover, student of life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Misha KellyWritten by Misha Kelly

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.