Poets logo

Pride Month

A Poem

By Hayley Stokes Published 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Original Photo

It is June, the month to be proud-

or the month that allows

those who do not care to save face,

as they put on the vestige of friends

Some sheep—some wolves in sheep’s clothing

They paint their two-faces is flags, but when voting

they are against us,

though they don’t know the violence they bring

Some remain silent,

some ask defiant

“Are you out?”

Am I out?

I have told many, yes

though others remain unaware, and I wonder

must I tell everyone I know, will ever know

before I am truly out?

It’s is a fool’s quest, chasing something that will never be

possible. Because how could I see

the future to know everyone who needs to know?

Why does anyone need to know?

(But me)

“Are you proud?” Am I proud?

I am proud of my accomplishments, goals I’ve achieved

But of this, I suppose I’m no more proud than I would be

of my hair or height or skin, and all the other things

which I did not choose to be

Should I be proud?

I don’t know.

Is my lack of pride self-loathing?

I don’t know.

But I’m proud of all the others

who live their truth more perfectly than me…

And I still celebrate Pride Month.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Hayley Stokes

Reader, Writer, and Reviewer.

Please consider following my bookstagram @book.dreamblog

Book review blog at: https://bookdreamblogbookreviews.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.