Poets logo

Pretty With Priorities

A Glass Of Truth Served Neat

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Pretty With Priorities
Photo by Prophsee Journals on Unsplash

He wanted to know

why I pulled back

*

Why I don't look at him

the same way

*

I told him straight up

"I don't have time for games."

*

"I'm focused on my career

and my academics."

*

He asked,

"But you know you're cute, right?"

*

"I know I'm cute."

"I know my worth."

"I don't need someone else

to validate that."

*

He asked me,

"Are you dating someone?"

*

"I'm not seeing anyone seriously."

"I told you there's that guy

who I let take me out

and buy my things."

*

"I have more important things

to do with my life

than to concern myself with dating."

*

He told me about his recent dates

in an attempt to make me jealous

*

I was unphased

I didn't bat an eye

*

Striking a nerve

He asked me again,

"So you haven't been on any dates lately?"

*

With a cold stare

I calmly said,

*

"I have more men ask me out

then I give the time of day."

*

"I don't give chances often."

"You're lucky if I even look your way."

*

"It isn't easy to catch my interest

but it's pretty easy to lose."

*

"Which is why

after what you pulled

I'm not interested in you."

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.