Poets logo

pretty as rain

a blurb about you

By sophia Published about a year ago 2 min read
Like
pretty as rain
Photo by Brian Stalter on Unsplash

I like being with you in the rain

and watching your hair turn into a wet, moppy mess,

and maybe sometimes I look at it and wonder how my hands would feel running through it,

but i’ll shake away the thought as fast as it came to me.

I like hearing your stupid laugh.

The one that’s a million times funnier than the actual joke

and if you’re making the joke, that’s definitely not hard.

I like hearing them anyways.

[and watching your eyes light up as you make them,

hunched over and squinting like an idiot]

You'll take a second to catch your breath before you do it all over again.

I like laughing with you, though I find myself laughing at you a lot more,

like when you try to make your stupid analogies to simplify things for me.

I find that the analogies end up being harder to crack than the actual topic

but I amuse them anyways. I like seeing you try...

Or when you run to me in the rain, with your hood down and no care in the world,

you take your jacket off, though it’s freezing cold,

I’ll do it too, cus I like being around you

and this jacket is just another boundary we’ve placed between us.

If only I could take those down with it

This stupid, puffer coat jacket that my boyfriend bought me

When I’d rather be wearing your's

But you knew better than to give it to me

You knew better, so we went somewhere warm and talked till our night our voices went dry

Talked till you reminded me why I fell in love to begin with

Now I can feel you crushing at the news and I’m left in awe

How I wish you could see that you’re everything I want

and that my relationship is in the ruins,

You know I’d leave him in an instant

If you said the words, but you wouldn’t

Can't it just be the two of us?

In the rain, with my hands in your hair,

just the two of us, living without a care.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

sophia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.