Poets logo

Presence Converted

to thought...

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
21
Presence Converted
Photo by Derek Owens on Unsplash

what is this?

i see it

it is new

i smell it

it is in my hands

it is what i am doing

it is fun

it is in my mouth

it is on my face

it lights up my brain

it makes me feel

it is now

it is texture

it is flavor

it waters my mouth

i enjoy this

it is wonderful

it is happiness

it is…experi–

"It’s a plum."

oh. i guess this is Plum.

social commentarychildrens poetry
21

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Kristen - As I always scroll through your presentations to see what I may have missed - This one really caught my eye and I wanted to share this with you: Terrilynn (my featured artist and bff that you may have noticed on many of my articles) and I have an identical as yours - Olivia 'Finger' paints all over her 'Face' Thanks for popping out special memories Jay

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    😁 ❤️

  • The infinite wonder & beauty of each new childhood discovery, moderated by parental commentary.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    So sweet! 💞

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Very sweet ❤️ They always do have that look when trying something new ❤️

  • Consumer Chronicles12 months ago

    The passage appears to be a description of someone experiencing a plum for the first time. The author describes using their senses to explore and enjoy the fruit, including seeing it, smelling it, holding it, and tasting it. They express their pleasure and excitement at the experience and suggest that the fruit brings them happiness and joy. The passage highlights the sensory and emotional aspects of experiencing new things and finding pleasure in the simple things in life. The abrupt ending with the statement, "Oh. I guess this is Plum," adds a touch of humor to the piece.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Awesome! And you found the perfect picture on Unsplash. (Or did you write to the picture? That would be a good idea.) That was literally sweet and fun Kristen! [Alas, there's no plum emoji, but it would probably mean something dirty anyway...] 😀

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    So cute!💖

  • ARCabout a year ago

    🤣 this finish is hysterical! love this piece, Kristen. (i mean this next bit VERY SUBTLY) ... in a way, we could also look at this moment as a first step out of the land of Spiritual Wonder and into a land of the mundane and concrete (the land of the "known"). But still, we do have to be able to speak about things to one another in order to coordinate/survive so... *'weighs' hands up and down like scales of justice* guess it's a balance, isn't it?

  • Beautiful Piece ❤️😉made me smile -it's a plum❗

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    hahahah! I love this so much, Kristen!! My oldest dyed himself (hair and skin lol) with beets a few times and I imagine this is exactly what his mind went through! 🥰🥰

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    I love the descriptions you had in there.. the curiousity and wonder... And then how the curiousity immediately disappeared as soon as the answer was given 🤣🤣.. kids have such short attention spans 😅

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Ohh this made me smile and wish my kids hadn’t grown up so fast

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Really enjoyed. I wonder what 'pickle' sounds like?

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    This one might be my favourite 😁

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh! This was so sweet and fun to read. 😊 I love the journey through the child's thoughts as the senses are activated in brand-new ways. 🤗 Wonderful work!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh, I loved the innocence and curiosity you evoked with this one, Kristen! And loved the switch from experience to plum. Made me smile a lot! Clever to keep it nice and simple and only a few words per line too! Bravo!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Wow, this is such a great perspective and a really clever approach. You covered the learning experience perfectly. Really well done, Kristen!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.