Poets logo

Prescription: Laughter

Pun The Pain Away

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

The joke's on me

*

I'm the punniest

when I'm in pain

*

Especially in the ER

with my blood spilling out

That's when I become

a comedian

*

He asked me

my last name

"Murphy"

"My mom used to tell me

that's the reason why

I'm always getting hurt."

"But I told her

I don't live by her laws."

*

He laughed with me

*

Seeing that I'm silly

while I waited

for the X-rays

to see through me

he showed me

his drawing

he made

on a yellow sticky note

*

"See what I did?"

Flashing the yellow square

with a black dot in the center

"I did it to pass the time."

*

"What is that?"

"A doodle."

"Of what?"

"A dot."

*

It looked more like Saturn 🪐

but I played along

It's always interesting

to see the doodles

of people's minds

spilled on paper

*

"You doodled a dot?"

"Yes. It's what I do."

"You'll find dots all over my house."

*

"Do what you want with your doodles."

"I won't hate on your artistic expression."

*

I heard an infectious laugh

beside the pain-stricken groans

hidden behind the curtains

*

He showed me the way

to my see-through show

*

After the curtain call

I asked him if he curated

anymore dots for his collection

*

"You know you ought to open up an exhibit."

"I could see it now…"

"A gallery with all your dots framed,

and a bunch of rich art snobs

analyzing your work, ready to drop some bills."

"Saying,

'A dot? How clever!'

'A singularity?'

'No, a period.'

'The beginning, or the end?'

'Marvelous! I'll take twenty.' "

*

The laughs behind the curtains

exceeded the groans

*

Laughter is the best medicine

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.