Poets logo

"PRELUDE TO LAUGHTER"

"FREEWAY, LOVE, CLOWNS, SPACE"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 8 months ago 3 min read
4

"PRELUDE TO LAUGHTER"

I look out my window,

out to concrete.

I walk out of the door,

Out into the street.

I step into my car

At noon tide.

I drive out of the parking lot at ebb tide.

I drive down the street,

And who do I meet?

A tall building

Made from concrete and glass.

I drive further,

And what do I see?

A freeway as I pass on by,

Around the corner is the boulevard.

The discos are crazy.

The sky looks hazy.

I drive on away.

I see a tree.

At last, I see green.

'Tis only the light,

So, on I speed

Down the freeway

In my shiny auto.

My gas tank reads empty.

Alas a station,

But wait a minute,

Not green, not open.

"RIDING ALONG THE FREEWAY"

Riding along the freeway

Staring across the sky,

So glad to be here today,

To be by your side.

I have waited for this time,

To be by your side.

You kiss me gently.

You smile as our thoughts are shared.

I feel that you care.

I wish the freeway would not end,

But it will,

Too soon,

So, let's love while we can.

Maybe or perhaps, I will see you again soon.

Riding along the freeway

Staring across the sky,

So glad to be here today,

To be by your side.

"THE LAUGING CLOWN"

As I sit on my sofa of brown and beige and orange stripes,

Striving of observation.

While I was observing the Apollo flights,

We finally learned the setting of our planet.

It appears as a big blue marble,

Floating in nothingness,

And the further away

You get from it,

The less detail

Is observed.

Until it becomes just another

Speed of light

In the black, in the mass universe,

The clown sits on the time,

The time that

Speeds inwardly.

It sits there, ostentatiously,

In a orange, yellow and brown suit

Orange stripes and polka dots omnipresent.

I sit here and think of what

Has happened over the years,

Of our time, of our living planet

Of survival,

Survival of green, black, rainbows

Of fears, of our tears of today,

Of yesteryears

The facts, the expediency of

Happenings of now and then.

The laughing clown sits on my sofa of brown, beige, orange stripes, rainbows.

In the bright time of the year

There was no one here

In the dark came a car

They came to my horror

In their search for tomorrow.

They came together to follow a star.

They are fools, that's what they are.

One has brown hair and eyes.

His eyes show his truth and lies.

He loves with his heart,

Tells his love they will never part.

he's not very tall,

In fact, he is very small.

He will be a friend.

He will last to the end.

Tomorrow he will remember when.

His love has eyes of blue

Her long black hair falls without a care

As she dreams of the love they share.

She loves people to be in search of tommorrow.

She will be your friend.

They start in the night.

The began out of sight

Their hopes are all in the heart

No. They will never part.

They travel over the moon,

Must they land so soon?

The night is dark as black.

So, they look back

Where is tomorrow in time?

Time flies and the bells chime

They are together

But the search is still on

Today is here.

Tomorrow is gone.

They began their life anew

Their car drives on the road home.

Will they at last end the roam?

WRITTEN BY

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

"MY BACK PAGES"

1980 THEN

2023 NOW

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I was in the first computer class in 1981 at The LA Times. PEACE OUT!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Danny L Trussell7 months ago

    I liked your poems!

  • This felt like an amazing adventure! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.