Poets logo

Pray for Rain

Just so it could take away all our struggle

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Some say they want the sun to shine all day.

Its rays can give you energy—

vanquishing all acidic emotions.

Sometimes, I pray for rain.

Just so it could wash away the anguish.

The sun will always shine, that I know.

Condensation is refreshing.

A shower could only do so much.

I like to go outside whenever it pours.

I be puffin’ a blunt, thinking about how far I’ve come.

Every challenge I’ve conquered.

No matter how strong the adversity became, I surpassed all odds.

Exceeded them even.

Thinking of everyone who came before me.

How they paved a way for me to run across.

The many sacrifices my momma made for me to be here, telling my story.

That woman gave her all to raise me, though our relationship isn’t the most nurturing.

Her compromise will not be in vain.

Never did I let these haters take away my mojo.

I was there to shut them up.

It never hurt to look ahead either.

There is hope.

Things look promising.

The future is never fixed, never think so.

I am making life work in my favor by doing diligent and righteous things.

Giving back to those in need.

I love the rain.

I don’t care if my clothes get soiled, that is all right.

I can dry them anyway.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.