Poets logo

Practice Makes Perfect

And Perfect Things Never Die

By Paige GraffunderPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Massimo Sartirana on Unsplash

If practice makes perfect

Then I’d like to perfect you.

Dip my toes in the water,

And see if your currents run true.

I’ve never been good at hobbies.

Pick one up and put it aside.

The cello, piano, knitting, art,

Putting them down to save my pride.

But you are a wave of good feelings,

A breeze in the summer,

The first drops of warm spring rain,

The comforting roll of thunder.

So I pick up the bow,

I finger your strings

I try to write a symphony

Rolling through chords and things.

You vibrate under my hands

You sing to me your truth

Soaking into my soul

A bathtub of gin and vermouth.

Loving you was intrinsic.

Nothing I could ever put the brakes on.

Careening drunk down deserted roads

Belting out our swan song.

Spinning in the smoke,

Drinking up the liquor.

Finding ways to make each other,

Breathe a little quicker.

So when the dawn peeks in on us

And our sweat has dried

To crystals shining in the sunlight

We can both smile knowing,

Fear,

Has,

Died.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.