Poets logo

M.P.D.G.

(Manic Pixie Dream Girl)

By Paige GraffunderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Photo by Rhett Wesley on Unsplash

I don’t mind being a manic pixie,

If it means that I’m your dream girl.

I don’t mind being a trope,

A cop-out,

The point that furthers your plot.

As long as I get a few lines.

A few warm smiles in soft light.

A glass of,

Liquid,

Warmth,

In a bar you don’t belong in.

I don’t mind fixing you,

Even if it breaks me.

I’ll be ok when you wander off,

To your sequel without me,

Because for an,

Hour,

And,

Fifty,

Two,

Minutes,

I’ll get to have you.

Hold you.

Breathe you.

Feel you.

Kiss you.

I don’t mind being the side quest,

You wander down,

When your main story line gets dull.

My body is a temple,

And I can be your sanctuary.

Trash me.

Like Jesus did.

Flip the tables of my greed for you.

Rage and rip asunder.

As long as when it’s over,

And your chest is heaving,

With feelings you can’t express,

You survey all that I was,

And know that my purpose,

Was always just,

To,

Make,

You,

Human.

I can be your blanket,

In the cool light of morning.

The cigarette clamped,

Between,

Your,

Teeth.

I can be the fire,

Brought to life on a matchhead.

But only when you strike me,

Just,

So.

I will be the light,

From the fridge,

Spilling across your face,

Like the miracle of electricity,

Could be made liquid.

I will guide your hand,

To all the,

Wrong,

Things.

But fuck,

They,

Feel,

So,

Right.

My quirky clothes,

My sparkly shoes,

My eclectic make up,

All perfectly positioned,

To make you want me.

But not forever,

Just for now.

I am satisfied with the chapter,

An honorable mention.

A set of initials in your acknowledgment.

Just knowing,

That I am indelibly written,

In permanent ink,

On the pages of your life,

Is enough for me.

For now, can never be forever.

But it can be more than I could have,

Ever,

Hoped

For.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.