Poets logo

Powerless

Thoughts from 2015

By Sadie Joy BlackPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Bright as day flashes the smile that's not for me,

It took some time to realize that I need to set you free

Yeah we're friends but it still hurts like a dagger in my heart

When you look at her like forever has just begun to start

And, despite everything I thought I knew

I can't help it that I'm still in love with you

We have conversations like it's September again

Before I ruined absolutely everything,

Everything

Despite the heat of summer in February,

I'm cold as glass shattered by the burden I can't carry

I am not allowed to unlock this box of emotion

But you still have my undying devotion

And, despite everything I thought I knew

I can't help it that I'm still in love with you

Push it down over and over until now the words are stuck

My throat closes over the throes of an unrequited love

Drowning in the memories of us, I wonder how you could forget

But then when you talk to me I think maybe you haven't yet

And, despite everything I thought I knew

I can't help it that I'm still in love with you

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Joy Black

“A life with love is a life that’s been lived.”

I’m just a girl with a lot of feelings that I let out through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.