Poets logo

Pouring Out

My Heart

By Alisha WilkinsPublished about a month ago 1 min read
5
Pouring Out
Photo by Keenan Constance on Unsplash

I don’t know what’s wrong

With me today.

My heart is anxious,

Heavy in my chest.

I have the urge to flee

As if my system is in the fight or flight mode.

I don’t understand why

It’s so hard to calm my mind

So hard to calm my thoughts.

I don’t want to stay in this place

I don’t want to die

I want to escape

I need to get out of this dark place.

I feel stressed,

Angered,

Saddened.

I’m like a mental roller coaster

That’s about to derail

And fly off the tracks.

I don’t understand why everything is a challenge,

Why everything is a struggle.

I don’t know how to live by myself

I don’t know how to be alone

And be okay.

I thought I’d have the fairytale love

I thought I’d be happy

And yet,

Here I sit.

Pouring my heart out to you,

Which is okay.

At least you give me an outlet

A resource to let it all out on the line

Air out the conflicts on my heart.

But when will it be my turn.

Will this struggle ever turn into something better

A situation

A scenario to be proud of?

When?

sad poetryMental HealthheartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    Wow, these words are so similar to the way I have felt in the past.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.