Poets logo

Fire and Vengeance

Warrior Within

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
4

Fire and Vengeance

Will sit like a crown upon my head.

God has been my justice

Has been my words

Has been my sword,

Strong within my hands.

~

These rags that labor my shoulders

Used to shine bright with trimmings of gold and silver

But now there are stains of dirt

Brushed with blood

My hands are worn and blistered

My fingernails darkened with ash

~

A simple gold ring lingers on my finger,

It’s dingy covered with dust and grime.

My hands feel dry, dirty

I’ve fought long for my freedom

And yet I’m still caged

Barred behind lead and steel.

~

The bars blocking my dungeon

Have kept me quiet

But I will not be silent forever

These chains will not keep me shackled.

As I mentioned

Fire and Vengeance

I will be reborn of it

~

Fire

It burns deep in my belly

This urge to fight, to live

I cradle the hilt of my sword against my chest

I clench it tight

The blade is still sharp

But burdened with death

~

I will cry out

As I strike the monster down

This beast…this massive dragon

His scales are black as night

He spews fire

Bringing out the Sun

The flames singe my skin

I will not fear.

~

These beasts

Huge and mighty

Are no match for my sword

These beasts are but men

They have no honor

They strive to destroy hope

But I will give them a vision of light

I will be the justice.

I CRY out

And the weak will hear my voice!

inspirationalFree Versefact or fiction
4

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 2 months ago

    Woahhhh this is just mesmerizing. You’ve got so much talent and your mind just blows me away!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.