Poets logo

Postmark: Some Base on Mars

To Emily, my darling.

By Kelley SteadPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11

Dear Emily,

It has been twenty-three days since my last transmission. That’s twenty-three days too long, my darling.

And sadly, it seems it will be longer. Things have not gone well up here.

It seems science is not quite a science, and the scientists are not gods after all. There is a mechanical problem on the base, the details I will not bore you with.

But I fear this problem to be catastrophic. And I find myself unable to assume the eight month journey home. In fact, I may not be coming home at all.

You are the love of my life, Emily. Seven years together has not been long enough. I see you each time I close my eyes. I see you in the red, rock faces of this barren planet. I see you in my reflection in the morning, and wonder how I breathe without you.

I hope you remember me when you see the stars. They aren’t nearly as brilliant without you here to share.

I hope you remember that this was my last transmission. And forgive me for not sending more.

I hope you try to love my mother. She raised me and you love me. There must be some common ground there.

Live well and be happy, my lovely Emily. Thank you for sticking by my decisions, as stupid as they seemed.

You were right, by the way. I should have been an accountant.

I love you for eternity,

Daniel

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
11

About the Creator

Kelley Stead

Grew up on a steady diet of Anne McCaffrey and Stephen King.

Spinning tales in the quiet moments between motherhood and building a business.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Fantastic and chilling at the same time!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such a heartfelt, passionate letter! I really love your take on this; I haven’t seen any others like it. ❤️ It is sad in a way; I wonder if they will see each other again, or if this is goodbye ❤️

  • Nice Storytelling 😉❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I really enjoyed this. Wonderful job!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great story poor Daniel

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful. Loved that last line.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    I should have been an accountant. Brilliant!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    👏👏I love this!! Such emotion and such a big story teased within this letter!

  • Nice take on the challenge, if you are on facebook feel free to join us in Vocal Social Society

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.