Poets logo

Postcard From the Grave

Monsters

By Cathy holmesPublished 3 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
55
Photo by Kenny Orr on Unsplash

There are several unofficial community challenges happening in the FB groups, and posted here on Vocal that some of you are likely aware of, and eager to participate in.

I have decided to write an entry for three of those challenges and merge them all into one. Call it creativity. Call it laziness. Call it cheating (please say creativity). I will include all three links and invite you, on behalf of the authors, to join in. The challenges/authors are:

Poppy's Prompts (February Edition) by Poppy

Prompted #1 by Randy Baker

๐…๐ž๐›๐ซ๐ฎ๐š๐ซ๐ฒ ๐–๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž ๐‚๐ฅ๐ฎ๐› ๐๐ซ๐จ๐ฆ๐ฉ๐ญ (๐”๐ง๐จ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐ข๐œ๐ข๐š๐ฅ ๐‚๐ก๐š๐ฅ๐ฅ๐ž๐ง๐ ๐ž) by RM Stockton

Without further ado, here is my entry.

He comes to me in silent footsteps,

in the ethereal stillness of my dreams.

The monster under my bed.

I am his playground.

My mind, his labyrinth of

velvet sandcastles and barbed cages,

in endless corridors with fortified steel barriers

at every escape.

Every illusory escape

imprisons me in an ocean of screams,

while he serenades me in cascading whispers.

-

He is an enigma.

-

He smiles in respect,

and scowls in derision.

He purrs of forgiveness,

and howls of torturous punishment.

He promises sanctuary,

but pledges eternal damnation.

-

He is an enigma.

He is a monster.

He is my monster.

-

I hear the sirenโ€™s song,

in the mournful wind chimes outside my window,

and I know heโ€™s back.

He has risen once again,

and this time, not to toy with my dreams,

but to remind me,

that I have finally outrun my guardian angels

and that now I must walk, hand-in-hand with the devil.

-

This will be my legacy.

This will be my postcard from the grave.

surreal poetryperformance poetryMental HealthFree Verse
55

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Very creative. Great challenge combo!

  • Very, very clever! I love this take, and whew, what a job you did!! Congrats Cathy

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    Wow!! This is incredibly well done. Very clever.

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    This felt like a song and I loved how you used the words. I did the same thing with my response to Randyโ€™s challenge. I made it into an inverse poem.

  • Brilliant. You continue to stun us with your ability

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    This was incredibly well crafted; I don't feel I am even close to your echelon as a writer. Everything you write is brilliant ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Poppy 3 months ago

    I. LOVE. THIS. I was going to copy and paste my favourite lines but that would literally be all of them! I had to reread to let the beauty of the entire poem fully sink in. So talented Cathy๐Ÿค

  • Zoe3 months ago

    wow...really nice work!

  • Julia Schulz3 months ago

    Absolutely fantastic!!!

  • Definitely creative!! Not to mention chilling and fantastic!

  • J3 months ago

    Is trifection a word?

  • Natasha Collazo3 months ago

    Cathhhhyyyy, I love everything from the title to the message, and your chilling elegance. Great job on another masterpiece!

  • Here's my postcard from the grave. It says, "Congratulations on your Top Story!" ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’–๐ŸŽŠ

  • Colleen Millsteed 3 months ago

    This is fantastic Cathy. Youโ€™ve grown so much as a writer ๐Ÿ˜Š

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Holy s#$&, this is beyond awesome. Combining all three challenges to create this. Yes, creative. Congratulations

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    ๐Ÿ˜ฒ Wow! Unless you had told me I would never have known you were hybridding (mmm... New word ๐Ÿ˜†) This is gorgeous. Eerie and written with truth at its core. Splendid!!! ๐Ÿ™Œ

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    The line that struck me-hard- is 'I am his playground'. That is so powerful!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Nice work...and I have so much to do!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Lotsa great invocations here, Cathy.

  • Lindsay Sfara3 months ago

    Wow, Cathy. This is incredible!

  • L.C. Schรคfer3 months ago

    Very creative and clever, and definitely not cheating! Well done on T.S. ๐Ÿ˜

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    I Definitely call it creativity. Awesome work, my friend and congrats!!!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Great challenges, great entry Cathy, should we all just give you the crown and get it done. Still, I am gonna give them a whirl, I may get lucky. Congrats.

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    Wow, love the nightmarish descriptions, evoking this dread that haunts one the most in their childhood room. This is great, and "I am his playground" is a killer line.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.