Poets logo

Poor Man’s Snack

A poem to reminisce over a snack that heals my inner child

By Summer RobinsonPublished about a month ago Updated 19 days ago 2 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
8

My mom always called it the poor man’s snack–

Buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a luxury the poor man knows

 

My mom had to give me the heel of the bread

Her cigarette sits in the ashtray, the smoke dances in the air

A nice doctor gave me a teddy bear to hold if I’m ever scared she’ll lie with the dead

It’s the end of the month and the pantry is quite bare

She’s scribbling down numbers, and I sense she feels dread

 

I’m doing homework at the kitchen table, and mom’s making me a snack–

Buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a luxury my mother knows

 

Country Crock isn’t even real butter

I’m surrounded by nicotine-stained walls

She’s scared of the prognosis, but the doctor has to cut her

Our cat, she naps in the sunlit halls

I hear the words to my dad: “Will we ever be out of the gutter?”

 

I’m at a friend’s after school, and her dad’s grabbing us a snack–

It isn’t buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a luxury my friend does not seem to know

 

He hands me a bag of chips from one of those variety packs

I know better than to ask for these again at the grocery store

Mom would get mad at me, and I know that for fact

With cheese-coated fingers, do I dare ask for more

I wonder if anyone would notice if I ever left home with a knapsack

It’s almost time for bed, and mom asks if I’d want to share a snack—

Buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a “luxury” I don’t want to know

 

She’s really sick again, and she doesn’t have much of an appetite

My honesty about her current state shouldn’t have been met with such a gaze

Who knew telling your loved one to go to the hospital would provoke such a fight

They gave her an expiration of seven minutes to seven days

The doctor’s news proven to be a blight

 

I haven’t eaten in days, but I really should have a snack—

Buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a luxury my mother no longer knows

 

This kitchen is empty of her presence

My hand trembles holding the butter knife

God, if you’re listening, I’d like to file a grievance

How selfish did you have to be to take her life

Maybe I’ll change my snack of choice to antidepressants

 

It’s been over a decade, but to this day, it’s my go-to snack—

Buttered toast with cinnamon sugar

Simple to most, but a luxury my inner child knows

 

The toast is both buttery and sweet

You see, when I was younger, I dissed her

But after all, bread and butter are some of my favorites to eat

Now I’m 28 and I miss her

When my time comes, over the “poor man’s snack” we’ll meet

sad poetryFamilyElegy
8

About the Creator

Summer Robinson

"I want to do something splendid before I go into my castle–something heroic, or wonderful–that won't be forgotten after I'm dead." –Jo March, Little Women

Bold, outspoken, and loyal all in one–I aspire to be a modern day Jo March.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 days ago

    Brilliantly crafted Summer, and powerful too. I like how the refrain of toast changes in every verse, and also how something so simple can mean so much 👏

  • Flamance @ lit9 days ago

    Good work

  • ema15 days ago

    This is wonderful and touching, you make me cry, very well written ❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.