Poets logo

Pondering the Year Ahead

This is a poem that cries reflection of past years and experience and also renewal of hope and faith in the new year.

By Ayomide Oyeyinka Published 3 months ago 1 min read
1

New year, a fresh season's dawn,

Last year shadow fades, new purpose drawn

Fresh expectations and new dreams dreamt

Will the dreams come to pass and the expectations met?

It is not my first year,

I ‘ve spent sometime here,

Convictions were crafted in the past too with journeys intended,

Yet, in the past years, my goals have been suspended.

Now a tremor of fear takes hold,

Is it the familiar trend to uphold?

What is to become of this year’s thread?

A weaving of triumph or moment to dread?

The common occurrence of defeat and shame?

Is there the tiniest hope of winning this game?

Will this year mimic the familiar frame?

Another tale of struggle, or an ascent to fame?

A new score sheet is here,

One devoid of yesteryear's stain,

Now, the time is come to make a gain,

Time to answer the clarion call to carve a mark out there,

And never had there been a better time to uphold the banner of my name

inspirationalFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Ayomide Oyeyinka

I am many things

A Writer ✍️

A Poet

A Copywriter

A Nigerian

Greener Earth Enthusiast

I have my background in Mass Communication and the sequence Persuasive Journalism (PR&AD).

Ia

I pray thee, unto me, make mention of me to potential clients 😁

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was so optimistic and uplifting! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.