Poets logo

I guess I'm not Good with Keeping Promises

This is a first draft poem written to express the disappointment I am for not sticking to the promises i made to myself

By Ayomide Oyeyinka Published 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Pixels

A lot of things said

The lot that was said

The aspired aspirations

Where did they all go?

A lot of aspirations

The thing said to be done

The aspired set to achieve

Where did they all go?

I had it all set

The convictions were there

Focus and dedication

I made a whole lot of them

A lot of promises to myself

I wanted to be something

I told myself I will be serious

The aims, objectives, focus were present then

I was sober

I thought about my life

I thought it all through

I wanted to make something out of it but then?

Nothing has been done

I didn’t keep the promise

I failed the promise

I broke the promise

Set-out goals hasn’t been achieved

The time limit I set is almost there

A whole lot said

I believed it

My convictions were set

The promises were made

But I guess I’m not good with keeping promise

First DraftFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Ayomide Oyeyinka

I am many things

A Writer ✍️

A Poet

A Copywriter

A Nigerian

Greener Earth Enthusiast

I have my background in Mass Communication and the sequence Persuasive Journalism (PR&AD).

Ia

I pray thee, unto me, make mention of me to potential clients 😁

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.