Poets logo

Pointing To The Light

Sharing Our Light

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

Pointing To The Light

I was once told that I should leave a light on,

For travelers being scoffed at, those being scorned.

For to them some soft light would be a welcoming sight,

Helping to guide them through their dark night.

I was once told that I should tend my light,

Remember to trim the wick keeping it bright.

It’s for those in sorrow or darkness imprisoned,

So they too may find the truth if they’ve listened.

I was once told to set my light on a mountain,

To show that there is a way, there’s a fountain.

For to keep it all to myself would be selfish,

Casting doubt on my testimony, a life tarnished.

So I trim my wick, this walk that I take,

To be careful to speak what I demonstrate.

For to do anything less would be deceptive,

Causing those who follow to be less receptive.

I was once told to be sure to fight the good fight,

In each battle whether morning, evening, or night.

For it isn’t up to me to choose those who are right,

But to simply live my life pointing them to the light.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    Your light led me to subscribe! There are many songs about leaving the light on, one I love is sung by Roberta Flack I believe. "Jessie"..."there's a light in the hall.. Very beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.