Poets logo

Backstage

Acting Out Life

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like

Backstage

I sit before a reflection quiet and still,

Holding unspoken words yet to be spilled.

It’s another one of those self-imposed prisons,

One filled with deafening silence having no reasons.

It’s not just a temporary fix that I seek,

As I search within me for my memories deep.

To have lost all my dreams I held close before,

Seeing them slaughtered upon some butcher’s floor.

I ponder the reflection, this man that I see,

And question him as to what his future might be.

An actor mimicking meaningless words looking at me.

A clown rehearsing pantomimes wasting time, some ineffably.

The image watches as I move through the motions,

Applying times’ lotions, a makeup of tomorrow’s potions.

In the waning moments of this parallel world’s union,

The image becomes the man I see joining in communion.

But it isn’t to last, this make-believe world of chance,

Where the face in the mirror can no longer be enhanced.

Time, the creature we all run from shouting and panting alas,

Will strip the costumes of life and all will become the past.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Breyabout a month ago

    very moving it tears you apart to abandon dreams

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.