Poets logo

Poetry-Not for Me

Opinions are just that.

By Mark GagnonPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
9
Poetry-Not for Me
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

I’ve been on Vocal now for over a year and a half. During this time, I’ve noticed a growing trend towards poetry. Maybe I’m old and set in my ways, but that style of writing has never held my attention. Let’s face it, no one in the real world speaks that way.

Think about it. You walk into the garage where your car is being worked on. Your car is up on a lift when suddenly, the mechanic working on it proclaims,

“A wrench, a wrench,

I must go to my toolbox for a wrench.

And perhaps some 3 in 1 oil

To dissolve the rust

And make this less of a toil.”

Would you think, what a clever technician or maybe I need to find a new service shop?

Okay, let’s try a different scenario to see how poetry might fit. The normal back and forth between a controller in an airport control tower and a pilot might sound like this.

Controller, “American 801, wind calm, altimeter 2995, clear for takeoff runway 17 right.”

American pilot, “Roger, tower, cleared 17 right. Have a good day!”

Now for the poetic version.

Controller, “American 801, the wind is now at rest,

So, leaving now would be best

I release you now to start your quest.

Rev your engines, feel their thrust

It’s your skills. Your passengers do trust.”

Pilot, “I hear your words,

You have set me free

Into the sky, I now must flee.

Best wishes to your crew, and to thee.”

Just imagine the delays that would occur at busy airports around the world if speaking like this was the norm. Using poetry in a business setting just isn’t practical. There may be one exception, a doctor’s office.

True, when it comes to understanding medical terms, I’m not the sharpest knife in the draw. The names given to body parts, diseases, and medicines are normally some sort of Latin mashup. Why is it that a science that labels itself as modern is still using a dead language? Is it because doctors like to feel that they’re the smartest one in the room? They could create the same confusion by using poetry. First, we have the normal way.

Doctor, “I’m afraid you have triple A.”

Patient, “So what’s triple A?”

Doctor, “Triple A, stands for Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm.”

Patient, “In English, please, Doc.”

Doctor, “The major artery that runs from your heart through your abdominal cavity has

developed a bubble like a bike tire inner tube.”

Patient, “Oh, now I understand.”

Now let’s examine the same exchange poetically.

Doctor, “Triple A is what you’ve grown

It could cause your death if left alone.”

Patient, “Wow, that sounds serious. Exactly what is it?”

Doctor, “A bubble, a bubble, what else could it be?

I’ve described it in plain English. Why can’t you see?”

I must admit, poetically is more dramatic, but no clearer.

So why am I not a fan of poetry? It lacks clarity for me. I’m not the type of person who wants to sit in a group and discuss what the author is trying to say. It should be clear from the beginning. If it isn’t, maybe it’s time for a rewrite.

Okay, my rant is over. I hope I haven’t offended too many of you. Maybe I got you to laugh once or twice.

I bid you adieu

As I have no more.

I hope you can control your anger

And not smash your computer on the floor.

humor
9

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    hahaha! This was awesome, reminded me of how people in musicals act and I LOVE musicals 🤣🤣🤣 definitely made me giggle and I do see your point though!

  • Jazmin Fernandez10 months ago

    Hahahaha!! There's no need to worry about offending anyone. I like it! Well written, good job Mark :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Mark, I’m kind of in love with this opinion you shared! I was laughing and smiling the whole time, trying to imagine you telling people this “no one talks like that in the real world”. The wrench poem was fun for me because I often talk to myself when I’m working/ doing something and will in some cases talk this way. Of course I mostly only bring it up to be a contradictor little shit. 😝 The doctor poem made me laugh nd think about that Grey’s anatomy episode where they made everyone sing.. don’t know if you’re a fan/ have seen the series but that’s where my chaotic brain went. This was so great Mark, thanks for the laughs! 😂

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    😂😂 not all poets write this way but this is hilarious.

  • Hahahahahahahahahahahahah omggggg you made me laugh so much! My favourite was the ones between the controller and the pilot! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I only started writing poetry after joining Vocal but you do have a point. No one talks like that in real life! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Boy did that have a reverse reaction !lol Have a good evening.

  • Test10 months ago

    Ah wouldn't it be lovely if people could string a few words together in a nice way during the day. I generally settle for written poetry, and have yet to speak in poetry in my life, but I admire your secret fantasy that it be so. Can't fool me. Loved this, Mark💙Anneliese

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Don't hold back! How do you feel about musicals?

  • Ha,😆❤️😉💯📝👍❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.