Poets logo

Poetry Lost

-L, 31

By LPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My mom told me once

When I was still a teen, living at home,

That in college, she used to write poetry.

I asked if she still had it,

If I could read it.

She said that it was probably in the attic

Somewhere, off-handedly ,

Or that it might be forever lost.

Who knows?

I asked if she would ever write again.

"I don't think so."

I was a young poet,

And in many ways a young her;

I wondered if I would ever see the day

I couldn't remember the last time

I wrote a poem.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

L

I bide my time between the reason and the rhyme,

Trying to sort the seasons and the signs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Laura L May2 years ago

    Lovely work. It always makes one sad when their loved one isn’t participating in something important to you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.