Poets logo

Poems from 2019: ‘This Little Light of Mine’

My light never went out.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poems from 2019: ‘This Little Light of Mine’
Photo by Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

This little fading light of mine,

You can’t let it shine.

This little dying light of mine,

You can’t let it shine.

This little sputtering light of mine,

You can’t let it shine.

Make it fade, slowly die, never shine…

You set me in a dark room

To slowly die away.

You kept me hidden from the sun.

I never saw the light of day.

I was beaten, battered, bruised,

Before you set me alight.

You tell me to just let it go;

There’s no reason for my fight.

Don’t you know that if you knock over a candle, it only takes a spark?

I catch the carpet, climb the walls, and roar sweetly like a lark.

I’ll blaze before your very eyes, then crawl into your mind.

I’ll make a pile of ashes out of everything I find.

I don’t need another excuse to burn your kingdom down,

And when I emerge from the ashes, I’ll be wearing your crown.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.