Poets logo

Poem: "Transient Hopes"

"I wonder if his hair finally reached his waist like he always said it would..."

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Poem: "Transient Hopes"
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

I wonder if my future self is watching me right now

like the way we watch horse races

and has already placed all his bets on me

waiting to see a leap over the finish line, or

pass the baton over to the right Kirk of tomorrow

I wonder if he's cheering from the stands

wearing a fully unbuttoned plaid flannel

and a matching bold-colored plain tee

and denim pants worn longer than anyone would agree

a pair of rose-tinted sunglasses worn not on his face, but

hanging from the neck of his shirt

to show that he finally stopped hoping for the world

and instead, took the world for what it was

and did that very same exact thing

to himself

I wonder if his hair finally reached his waist

like he always said it would,

with certain locks bursting from the strands

curling upwards and outwards

in a furious tangle that all made sense in the end

and how the background on his phone

finally stopped reminding him to be strong

Myself (circa Summer 2019) @ around 260-70 lbs.

-

inspired by a desire to look back on my own life and be proud of who I am--like being the future me, watching the present me fight for his own better future.

more works on my Instagram @ephrain_

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.