Poets logo

Poem: The Villanelle

“To My Dear Love”

By Daniela AnmenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: The Villanelle
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

To my dear love who is with her,

I know another you cherish at night

While I seek your warmth in despair.

I hope our bundle of love means more than her ,

As he awaits you while the moon is bright

While I seek your warmth in despair.

Things are not as they once were,

When you’re home there is no light

While I know it was left with her.

I smile and pretend. I know who you prefer

In those days when you seek delight

While I seek your warmth in despair.

They know another caused a stir

When the door slammed with strong might,

And I cried as you walked away and turned into a blur.

To my dear love now free to adore her,

I looked around our old room tonight ,

And the still lingering pain fails to see why you chose her

While I cling to the sheets in despair.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Daniela Anmen

Brand new adult. You'll read my thoughts through my shabby writing. It’s pretty random.

*My first novel, “Dreams of Dawn” is currently available on Kindle.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.