Poets logo

Poem Mashups

Love, life, and loss

By Natalie NascenziPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

ALRIGHT PEOPLE. HEADPHONES IN. EYES CLOSED. LET'S DO THIS.

The “Light House” is an experimental mashup of two of my favorite pieces; “Golden Hour” and “I Patiently Waited.” Both poems are featured in my third book, Isle of Skye.

I was playing around with premier for another project and this kinda just fell into place. Something about it felt raw, like even though it wasn’t perfect, I needed to share it as is. Love itself is imperfect, but beautiful, and that’s how this random creation made me feel.

Fun fact: They were written about three years apart from each other.

These poems are originally very different in style and tone yet had something in common—they were both about the idea of waiting for that special “someone.” Soulmate, true love, the “one”. They both speak to the lingering hope that the ‘other half of you’ is somewhere out there searching for you too (if you haven’t found them yet, that is). Each original poem ends in the acceptance of being alone or facing the fact that the person may never come…. this commonality made them the perfect mix-match. Much like when two very different people meet and fall in love. Opposites attract and often collide, but there is always something that binds them together as one.

I chose to title the new piece “Light House” because everything about the poem reminded me of one. It is always on the edge of the sea, guiding sailors home to their loved ones ashore. It is a beacon of hope, forever waiting patiently for someone’s safe return. The metaphor extends further, but I’m too tired to write eloquently.

Last but not least, when I imagine a soul calling for its other half, I always imagine a light beaming from the heart, just like a light house; shining brightly in the night, as if to say, “Follow the light, and I’ll be here waiting for you.” Or as a lighthouse would say, “boooooooooooooop.” The title is broken into two words for that reason, the soul houses the light.

Cat’s outta the bag….I’m a hopeless romantic.

Next up, we have "Dare I say, I love you like Morning Coffee"

“Dare I say, I love you like morning coffee” is my newest "heart-eyes-emoji-vibed" experimental mash-up of my poems, "Dare I Say" and "Morning Coffee."Both poems are vulnerable confessions of love, which made them the perfect pair to combine.

'Dare I Say' is the only poem I've ever written with the intention of it being for and about someone, so it's a very special piece. It’s featured in my third poetry collection "Isle of Skye."

Morning Coffee is a fan favorite from my first collection, "Out of Chaos." It is also featured in the Winter 2020 Train River anthology of poems (also available for purchase on my website). “Morning Coffee” is an innocent profession of love, and was written to mirror the emotion of "longing" to tell someone how you feel without having the courage to do so.

Last but most certainly NOT least, meet my heart-wrenching little pal, "Spilled Memories."

"Spilled Memories" is an experimental video/audio mashup of my poems, "Missing Sunrise" and "Spilled Honey."

These two poems can be interpreted any way you wish...missing a person who has left, or has passed. Perhaps, you had to walk away from someone you loved, or vise versa. Maybe you're waiting for their return, or accepting the fact that they may never come back. Memories are both beautiful and painful. Nonetheless, they keep those whom we love in our hearts forever, no matter how much time may pass..

"Missing Sunrise" is featured in my second collection, "The Aftermath of Unrest" and "Spilled Honey" is one of my favorites from my first collection, "Out of Chaos."

That's all for now folks. Be kind. Spread love.

Love,

Nat

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Nascenzi

Aloha, I’m Nat! Poet. Author. Copywriter. Vagabond. The list goes on and on. Based in Manhattan, part-time nomad. I live by a simple set of rules: Trust God, keep it real, be kind, JUST GO FOR IT!

www.natalienascenzi.com / Insta: @nncenzi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.