Poets logo

Poem: "Letters to Casper"

I do it so I can validate that I'm the only one making the effort here.

By DEUXQANEPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: "Letters to Casper"
Photo by Kirsty TG on Unsplash

Talking to you, sometimes

is like getting up for the sixth time

to check the fridge for food

and when the disappointment

finally registers after giving you

the same amount of chances,

I realize that

I have to go to the grocery store.

Meaning, I have to hit you up again.

I don't really mind the trip,

after all, I'm not doing it for you.

I do it so I can validate

that I'm the one

making the effort here.

I just figured maybe if at some point

while I'm out here living my life

walking on boardwalks

and having ice cream

(despite being lactose intolerant)

that maybe someday I'll get an address

to send all these postcards to

wishing you were here.

---

inspired by someone bad at consistent communication.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.