Poets logo

Poem: "Cognizance"

"I'd rather not talk about it..."

By DEUXQANEPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Poem: "Cognizance"
Photo by Sid Balachandran on Unsplash

This morning the sun told me

that he loved me

and with a start I woke up

breathing frantic, in terror

having impossible dreams

as I came to, I lie back

onto the same blue linens

that watched me close my eyes

in hopes of a fateful dawn

where I'd someday spring

out and onto my feet

ready to take on the day

but instead I drag myself

out into the front of a bathroom mirror

hair shaped by the hands

hidden in my sheets

and the sides of my face

peppered more than yesterday

and with a sigh I splash my face

time and again

rise and repeat

and when I make it back

to my room, I stand there

still breathing

and quietly ask myself

"are you okay?"

and like a good friend

I respond with

"I'd rather not talk about it"

unsure of if I'm sparing myself

or sparring with myself

whatever road it is we're walking

it sure is unfamiliar

maybe I'm just not in the mood

knowing myself best

I'll likely talk about it later

until then I walk beside myself

by myself

until I'm feeling ready

any minute now...

-

inspired by days where I'm not feeling so hot

follow me for more works on my Instagram @ephrain_

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

DEUXQANE

93% of communication is non-verbal. Here's the other 7%.

I'm a licensed therapist. I love my kettlebell, steel mace, and rower. I've a soft spot for sci-fi, rollerblading, herbalism, poetry, drag race, EDM, and spending time in nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.