Poets logo

Pocket of Color

Within me; a kaleidoscope.

By Alison MaleePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

A lavender field lays open, an uninterrupted meditation for the bees,

their small ink and yellow bodies flitting gracefully between blooms.

My daughters, both glistening neon, wade through until they too are fragrant,

each unknowingly pulling along the white-hot sun behind them.

Peach palms extend skywards as they wave to me from afar, cheeks yielding to full fledged smiles, a speck of light

against the lush emerald and purple.

Folded small, I am deep-night denim knees pulled to my chest.

Tired in the heels of my shoes and in the ache of my shoulders.

Steadfast in my own kind of romance with the world,

I hold joy loosely. We have together a lazy understanding of intimacy,

and I watch the light spilling through, fracturing across the field, across little upturned faces, across a vast distance I may never travel; a kaleidoscope

of each pocket of color that unravels before and within me.

art
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.