Poets logo

Pocket Fumbling

Poem

By Marilyn GloverPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/beautiful-girl-long-hair-fluttering-asian-315895391

Comfort

Is

Hidden treasures

Found

In

Deep pocket rumblings

One dollar of change

Three quarters

One dime

Two nickels

Five pennies

Music

At

My

Fingertips

During awkward silence

Clinking coins

Together

Breaks up monotony

During

Long drawn-out

Elevator rides

People, elbow to elbow

Jammed-pack

Car, lift, cage

Rattles my nerves

Tweaking anxiety

I need a distraction

From people without words

Invading my headspace

So

I rattle and roll

Old scrappings

Of

Copper and silver

In

My deep-seated pockets

Clinking

Jingling, jangling

A personal wand

Casting a spell of solace

In my corner

Of

A

Mechanical hoist

Pocket fumbling

Eases my tension

In

Crowded

Waiting rooms

Doctor’s office

Or

Restaurant seating

Gem sifting

With

My digits

I discover

A pair of velvet buttons

Navy blue

Silky smooth

Friendly to the touch

Remnants saved

From

A dress

Grandmother made

When

I

Was eight

Security in time transition

Skin to soft fabric

Transports me to childhood

Calming my senses

While

Among strangers

Commotion, confusion

Pocket fumbling

Warms more

Than

My extremities

During

A

Chill

Tumblings in pockets

Give

My

Feelers-

Thumb

Index

Middle

Ring

And pinky

Grabbings to hold onto

Whether bit by bit

Or

Collectively

And

Sometimes

When life

Becomes

A handful

I let

My fingers do the walking

Creating a place

Of comfort

For

Even if it is only a pocket

It is a hideaway

Just for me

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.