Poets logo

Planting Roots in Our Hearts

Your True Home

By PaigePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Farrinni @ Unsplash.com

My home has changed so often, from apartments to single wides. From city to city, it became an event I often despised.

I've moved around so much, so many towns, so many places. I've made so many neighbors. I remember so many faces.

Since I was young my family has always jumped around. Do to finances, violence, or just the economy slowing down.

I've always dreamed and prayed for a stable, permanent home. I had grown tired of the moving, changing schools, the unknown.

But then as I aged, I started to truly see. A home is not what most seem to think it to be.

My home, I realize, is different. It is more complex than just being a simple place. My home is those who are around me that I've grown to love and who can't be replaced.

I have friends from good ole White House, who I still worry for and keep up with to this day. Whenever we see each other in person, it's like we were never away.

I have memories of run down Portland, and the friend who I lost so young. I love and miss her dearly. I just wish I could give her one more hug.

Now in beautiful Monroe. I've moved about here and there. But here I have my family and I know that they always will care.

My home is those I love dearly. It's my kids, my parents, my brothers. And without their love and support, I wouldn't be able to go much farther.

My parents who love and support me, even though I'm an absolute mess. My brothers who absolutely annoy me but I will always wish them the best.

My kids are the greatest part though, of my entire life and home. My nieces and nephew as well, they are the sunlight to my darkest inner storms.

The way they smile. The way they hug me and say. "I love you so much momma! What are we doing today?"

They remind me of how lucky I am to still walk this Earth. Even when I'm feeling low and lost all of my self worth.

I've had so many ups and downs. I've lost and gained so much. But throughout it all no matter what, It's all made better by their loving touch.

My home is in my heart not in any permanent place. And even though I still wish for stability, I will continue running this chaotic race.

My family will always support me. I will always feel their love. It is for them and my good friends that I thank the good Lord above.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.