Poets logo

plans

(b)

By Sara Published 9 months ago 1 min read
plans
Photo by danilo.alvesd on Unsplash

i swallow

white pills

for breakfast

along with my

orange juice and

regret

because plan A

keep your hands to yourself

never works.

when the night

falls

and the voices

get louder

i need a strange man

to put his hands

around my waist

and whisper

in my ear

everything

i need to hear.

then i spit

in his mouth

and send him back home

and i turn on the TV

hoping that my skin

forgets

and the acid

in my belly

does not let life

live in me.

i am young

and stupid

just like i am

supposed to be.

artlove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Damn...you always get me on an emotional level and cerebral level. I am sure this is how it feels for many women nowadays, that's how I read it anyway. Being young, lost, female and not wanting kids, but wanting the other stuff, but not the men hanging around. Well done, as ever, Sara!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    One tough pill to swallow. Well written!

  • This comment has been deleted

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.