Poets logo

Pinecones & Dancing Ghosts

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Pinecones and Dancing Ghosts

It was one of those days. I was sitting at the edge of the bed with my face in my hands wishing life would have a bit of grace and mercy.

“I need a break.” I spoke out loud. I wasn’t sure whom I was speaking to or if anyone was listening. I hoped someone or something did listen to me, though. Someone or something with power and love. Someone or something with mercy and grace. Someone or something that cared directly for me.

I then heard a sound. I looked toward the door of my room to notice a vibration. There was a thump so loud it seemed as if it were knocking on my door. The sound found its way through the cracks and wrapped itself around me. I walked slowly to the door, and when I opened it, I was no longer home.

I was in a place I had never been before. Normally a situation like this would terrify me, but there was something about this place that felt familiar, comfortable, and secure. Maybe I had visited this place in my dreams before.

Standing in the middle of a forest, a scent of fresh soil found its way through my body as I closed my eyes and took a deep breath in. It had just finished raining; and though the scent was refreshing, how I wish I could’ve been caught in the rain while here.

My soul felt as if it had been awakened after sleeping for many years. I opened my eyes and noticed the tall and dark pine trees. A strong wind then blew past the entire area as if providing a breath of life. The scent of pine swept under my nose as numerous pinecones fell from the trees and gently landed on the ground.

The pinecones that were left on the branches began to sway as if dancing, the ones on the ground began to spin, and some surround me as if at a ball. The scent of pine lingered in me as if inviting my soul to come alive.

“Dance with me?” The aroma whispered.

The essence of who I am gently and freely took over when accepting the invitation. My body moved at my soul’s desire, my heart and mind were 1 and free. I swayed and spun, laughed and smiled, feeling alive like never before.

Just then, as the song smoothly flowed into a new one — I noticed ghosts joining in on the dance. They came from the ground, the sky, and from within the trees. It seemed to me they lived here.

I spun around with the wind; and I danced my way into the crowd of ghostly beings. I smiled and caressed their cheeks, and they smiled and danced along. We danced, and we laughed, and I began to wonder…

“May I stay here? My loved ones can join! They’d love it! We’d be happy, and safe, and all would be well.” But the song slowly began to fade.

“Your time here is done. Go home, my dear” - were the words that were whispered into my ear.

“But I like it here. It’s sweet and calm. There’s no fear, no suffering, no sadness. Please let me stay, I beg of you, to play, to sing, to join dances. I like it here, it’s safe and kind. There’s no anger, no rudeness, no madness. It’s beautifully freeing, my soul is breathing, don’t send me to be empty and lifeless. I lose every day, I’m begging to stay, though I know that I am not righteous.

I can’t save myself — I can’t save who I love, I’m weak, discouraged, and worthless. I try to fight — fight, and fight some more; but I’m exhausted, defeated, and hopeless.”

“Breathe in deep and hold on to me, what you see is who you are to be. Be the peace, be the acceptance, be the calm, and the gentleness. Share this world with those you love, dance and sing and tell stories of — friendly pinecones and dancing ghost, because love from you is what they desire most. Love is patient, love is kind, you are the love they desire to find.

Your love is not to save them, your love is not to demand, your love is there for unity, to hold each other’s hands.”

“Is it worth it to love others, if the pain will surely grow?”

“Allow freedom of your tainted love to fearfully unfold. You’ll be the warmth within the rain, the calmness in the pain, a light within the darkness, a lovely memory to remain. Don’t think about the future, don’t think about the past — be the peace you seek in life, be love, be free at last.”

surreal poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirational
1

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    You're welcome! May your day be adorned with everlasting smiles!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.