Poets logo

pieces

sojourner/s

By natPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
pieces
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

They say

That home is where the heart is

But how can that be, if the heart is shattered?

Shot

Into a million pieces

Bleeding.

Because

The place that I call – called – home

Is no longer.

Fear is my bed

I rest my head

On a pillow of needles

That prick my skin

And make the tears

Flow

For my country

That is lost

Among a sea of bleeding roses

The petals are long wilted

The fragrance has gone stale

My face grows pale

The sunken eyes

Of the children

I see them

I weep

For my home

The people.

My people.

I am homesick

I am home

Sick.

When will the nightmare end?

The endless waves

On a moonless sea

Tossing and turning

My stomach is churning

Will I make it

To the Promised land?

The land promised

To be

Full of streets

Paved with gold

I hope that I can pave a future

A path

To a new

Home.

But I cannot do it alone.

Together we will pick up the pieces

Though they cut our skin

Together we will.

Let us begin.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

nat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.